

PINELLAS SUNCOAST TRANSIT AUTHORITY 3201 SCHERER DRIVE, ST. PETERSBURG, FL 33716 <u>PSTA.NET</u> 727.540.1800 FAX 727.540.1913

BOARD MEETING MINUTES FEBRUARY 24, 2021

Chairperson Gerard called the February 24, 2021 Board meeting to order at 9:00 am. Members present: Pat Gerard, Chairperson, Gina Driscoll, Vice-Chairperson, Dan Saracki, Secretary/Treasurer; Dave Allbritton, Richard Bennett, Vince Cocks, Deborah Figgs-Sanders, Rene Flowers, Michael Fridovich, Jeff Gow, Janet Long, Kathleen Peters, Jamie Robinson, Keith Sabiel, and Josh Shulman. Also present: Brad Miller, CEO and PSTA staff members. Attending via Zoom: Alan Zimmet, PSTA General Counsel, and members of the public.

Public Comment:

There were no public comments.

Awards and Recognition:

Driver of the Year, Alcus Snell – Jeff Thompson, Director of Transportation, introduced PSTA's Driver of the Year for 2020, Altus Snell. Mr. Snell thanked PSTA staff for selecting him to be Driver of the Year.

Black History Month Campaign – Whitney Fox, Director of Communications and Marketing, and Tamika White, Senior Organizational Development Manager, presented the Black History Month campaign, "Driving Diversity." Due to the pandemic, the annual Martin Luther King (MLK) parade was cancelled. Instead, PSTA staff featured various murals around the county. One in particular, was on a building that no longer exists, so the Marketing department decided to take that mural and had it placed on one of the buses. Also mentioned, were a few Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) presidents/CEOs that currently have contracts with PSTA.

Committee Updates:

Transit Riders Advisory Committee (TRAC) Update – Duncan Kovar, Committee Chairperson, reported on the recent TRAC meeting.

Forward Pinellas – Chairperson Gerard provided an update on the recent Forward Pinellas meeting.

Tampa Bay Area Regional Transit Authority (TBARTA) Update – Ms. Long welcomed new PSTA representative, Ms. Flowers. She will be giving the report starting next month. Ms. Long outlined the TBARTA meeting that took place last week.

Consent Agenda:

Ms. Long made a motion, seconded by Mr. Allbritton, to approve the Consent Agenda. The Board unanimously approved the Consent Agenda which included approval of the January 27, 2021 minutes, the bulk fluids contract, and the AVA extension in St. Petersburg.

Action Items:

PSTA Access Paratransit Operation Contracts – Mr. Miller stated the importance of this contract and the fact that PSTA is required to provide this service. He said that staff is recommending approval to award this contract to First Transit and Bay Area Metro. Al Burns, Director of Procurement; James Bradford, Chief Operating Officer; Debbie Leous, Chief Financial Officer; and Bonnie Epstein, Director of Mobility Services, provided additional details about the procurement process, cost savings, budget projections going forward, and service in the future. Mr. Cocks thanked staff for allowing him to be involved with the process. He expressed concerns about the ambulatory service and lack of benefits for drivers. Other questions and comments were made regarding length of contract, professionalism and timeliness of drivers, salaries of drivers, current contract amount, re-bidding, if necessary, proposed Not-to-Exceed (NTE) cost, and the amount of sub-contractors. There were no public comments.

Mr. Saracki made a motion, seconded by Ms. Long, to approve the contracts with First Transit and Bay Area Metro. The motion passed (13:2), with Mr. Cocks and Ms. Flowers dissenting.

Clearwater Multimodal Facility Design – Abhishek Dayal, Director of Project Management, gave a presentation on the design contract for the Clearwater Multimodal Facility. He said staff is recommending a contract award with CDM Smith. Mr. Burns spoke about the procurement process. There were no public comments. Mr. Bennett made a motion, seconded by Ms. Long, to approve the contract with CDM Smith for the Clearwater Facility design. The motion passed unanimously.

CEO Evaluation/Compensation – Chairperson Gerard said that the Personnel Committee met last week and is recommending a 4% compensation increase for Mr. Miller to bring his salary closer to his peers. Mr. Shulman noted that he did not approve the 4% at the Personnel Committee, due to the fact that no other employee received anything higher than 3.5%. There were no public comments. Mr. Saracki made a motion, seconded by Ms. Long, to approve a 4% compensation increase. There were no public comments. The motion passed (12:2), with Mr. Shulman and Ms. Peters dissenting.

[Mr. Bennett left the meeting at 10:56 am and did not return.]

Trish Collins, Director of Human Resources, outlined the new compensation plan. She said that Market/Equity and Merit/Outstanding Achievement will be considered

separately. There were no public comments. Ms. Long made a motion, seconded by Mr. Saracki, to approve the new compensation plan. The motion passed unanimously.

Reports and Correspondence:

Performance Updates - The report was included in the packet.

SunRunner Transit Oriented Development (TOD) – Mr. Miller mentioned the SunRunner TOD presentation included in the packet. He said that the Planning Committee received this presentation at their meeting last week.

Future Meeting Subjects:

The Board was provided with a list of upcoming meeting subjects. Mr. Miller said that the Bus on Shoulder project and an Interlocal Agreement with Dunedin for an Autonomous Vehicle (AV) pilot will be on the agenda next month. He also mentioned that the Legislative Session will begin soon.

Other Business:

Mr. Miller stated that there will be a recommendation letter sent by Mr. Miller on behalf of the Board to the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to support the Westshore interchange project.

Board Member Comments:

Mr. Allbritton mentioned that he had a conversation with Representative Ben Diamond, and he will write a letter of support for the Clearwater Multimodal Center.

Adjournment:

There being no further business, Chairperson Gerard adjourned the meeting at 11:09 am. The next meeting is March 31, 2021 at 9:00 am.

Chairperson